Click to listen!

Hello Hello! How are you?

I am keeping it going strong with the First Lines Fridays since I still haven’t had time to write a Down the TBR Hole post… *hides*

I have been having a great time at my internship, and I only have a week left, which is so sad, but I will be glad to have some holidays, FINALLY!! I will most likely spend that time on the sofa under a blanket with loads of books to keep me company hehehe!

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page.
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first.
  • Finally… reveal the book!

“I see a man coming through the falling snow. From a distance through the curtain of white he looks hardly human, like a shadow figure. As he nears me I see that it is Doug, the gamekeeper. He is hurrying towards the Lodge, I realise, trying to run. But the fallen, falling snow hampers him. He stumbles with each step. Something bad. I know this without being able to see his face.

But what book is this quote from?

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley

Book Cover

Everyone’s invited…everyone’s a suspect…

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world. Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

.

This list includes some affiliate links. If you decide to purchase a book from one of my links, I may earn a small commission, at no extra cost to you.

If you would like to purchase this book, you can find it here: Amazon UKAmazon FRAmazon USAbeBooksThe Book DepositoryAudible FRWaterstonesBarnes and NobleAudible UKScrib’dBlackwell’sBetterWorldBooksWordery


This book is on my Tropeical readathon TBR for the “Locked Room Mystery” prompt which is part of the team challenge. I am joining this readathon this year on the Mystery/Horror/Thriller team, since I’ve gotten into these genres more lately, and want to challenge myself!

I have wanted to read Lucy Foley’s books for a while, so I’m glad this fits the prompt, and I am itching to start it soon, I’m sure it’s going to be great!

Have you read this book yet? What did you think of it?

That’s all for now, I hope you enjoyed this post, see you soon, stay safe,

Ellie xx

You might also enjoy:

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: